vori vori

I made this with beef last week, but it can be made vegetarian or with chicken also.

Vori vori is the soul food of Paraguay.

To me, it is a hybrid between good old American chicken soup and the pottage my French grandmother Clémence used to make. That must be why I love it so much.

My grandmother’s recipe for pottage written on a jar in her fridge. I took this picture at her house in Farges last time I was there.

It’s just a feel good food. I made it for the first time on my own this week instead of mooching off my neighbors. Here is my attempt at a recipe, after watching people make it so much and trying it out on my own.

Vori Vori Ryguasu 

  • 5 cloves garlic, minced (I like my food on the stinky side)
  • 3-4 small onions, diced
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 1 small green pepper, diced
  • 2 green onions
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • Parsely to taste
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoon cumin powder
  • 300-500 grams chicken, bone in for a better broth
  • 50-100 grams queso paraguaya (but mozzarella also works fine)
  • Water
  • 250 grams (ish) of corn flour

This is like a chicken soup recipe – guidelines only. Everyone makes theirs a different way. The vegetables here are the ones I used last week, but I would like to try with celery and possibly leek when I am back in the states.

  1. Brown garlic and onions in a little oil until clear and brown chicken on both sides.
  2. Add water to cover that and get that simmering, just like you are making chicken soup.
  3. Add cumin, salt and pepper.
  4. Add the rest of your veggies and let it simmer for at least 30 minutes.
  5. Take out the chicken and put the soup mixture in the blender (I like my vegetables pureed, but others here prefer the vegetables whole)
  6. Put everything back in your pot, and add 1/3 of your corn flour to thicken the soup. This is also by preference. More corn flour if you want a thicker soup and vice versa.

Make your vori vori dumplings:

  1. Mix in a little salt with your corn flour and break off small pieces of cheese into the mixture.
  2. Make a “well” in the middle of your bowl and add a little of your broth from the pot to moisten mixture and form small balls with your hands. They will be about 2-3 cms in diameter.
  3. Plop those into the soup, and let them simmer in there for about 5 minutes, really just so the broth gets soaked into the middle (you can cut one in half to check).

Serve with fresh oregano on top.

This is – truly – the BEST of Paraguayan cuisine. It’s something simple and homey; I have yet to meet a volunteer that does not at least tolerate this even if they hate all other typical Paraguayan food. I’ll be making this a lot when I get back.

About Nicole FR

Just an old soul in limbo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to vori vori

  1. Claire says:

    When you make that soup I would like to be invited!
    Hope you are doing well, we are going to Italy and London on Sept 24 th
    Will send pictures,
    Claire x

  2. Martha says:

    Nicole can’t wait to read your new post

    Feeling better here this week. We have had beautiful rain and cooler temps good things all around

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Fillion-Robin Jacqueline says:

    bon souvenir, le pot d’herbes au sel !!!!!!!! il y en a encore dans les conserves de Grand’Mère. bisous.

Leave a Reply

