Spa day, campo style

this has absolutely nothing to do with this post, just some amazing street art from my trip to BA

Let me just start out by saying I have turned into a disgusting human being here. Not by choice (well, completely) but I am definitely not as well groomed as I was at home. One problem is I don’t own a mirror in my house (I use my webcam to apply mascara when I wear it – it’s a hard skill). The second being that it’s just a hot harsh environment and it’s just HARD on your body.

Let’s list ways Paraguay has ruined my young twenty something body:

weight gain: no gym, pig lard used in food, overdoting host parents,  and therefore weight gain (it’s coming off though).

bites: mosquito bites, ant bites, general bug bite scars on my feet & legs. I know I shouldn’t scratch BUT IT FEELS SO GOOD. What am I, an 8 year old?

my hands: they look more weathered than they did a year ago. calluses and angry cuticles and the sun is hard on them (note to self: apply sun screen on your hands, too).

my feet: When I first got here, people would always tell me: “Wow Nicole, you have such nice feet,” which initially I thought was an odd compliment. Now I get it! After a summer of walking around in sandals on cobblestone/dirt roads they are a permanent color of dirt red, bug bites, and cracked skin.

Which brings me to CAMPO SPA DAY. Yesterday I was at my host family’s house and we decided to give each other pedicures, which in a world of dirty feet is pretty much the purest form of love if you ask me.

They also deep conditioned my hair… in chicken fat. That was a little gross and I walked home smelling vaguely of Kentucky Fried Chicken and with no other results I could tell of on my hair. I don’t think I’ll be doing that again, but my feet do look better today!

About Nicole FR

Just an old soul in limbo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

